The Origin of the Gongchig
The Gongchig is based on the teachings of Kyobpa Jigten Sumgön, the founder of the Drikung Kagyu Lineage. Jigten Sumgön was prophesized as the second Nagarjuna in Shakyamuni Buddha’s teachings and was clearly mentioned as the reincarnation of Nagarjuna by the great Pandita Shakya Shri. All the teachings of the Gongchig were collected by Jigten Sumgön’s closest disciple Chenga Sherab Jungne (1187-1241) while he served Jigten Sumgön for 11 years. During that time he heard all the precious vajra speech of Jigten Sumgön and noted it.

The Commentaries of the Gongchig
There are many commentaries, notes, and pith instructions on the Gongchig. The well-known commentaries include Gongchig Drelchen Nangdze Yeshe Drönme also known as Dor Sherma by Chenga Dorje Sherab, Gongchig Rinjangma by Chenga Rinchen Jangchub, Gongchig Kartik Chenmo by the 8th Karmapa Mikyo Dorje (1507–1554), Gongchig Sindri Thorbu by Je Tsuglag Threngwa (1504–1564/66), Gongchig Sal Je by Shamar Chökyi Dragpa (1453–1526), The Explanation of the First Chapter of the Gongchig with Question and Answer by Kunga Rinchen (1475–1527), Gongchig Nyima Nangwa and Kadrel Munsel Drönme by Rigzin Chökyi Drakpa (1595–1659), the Pith Instructions on the Gongchig by Konchog Rinchen (1590–1655), Gongchig Lung Rig Nyingpo Ter by the Nyingma master Kunzang Palden (c.1872-1943), Gongchig Losal Gawe Nagyen by Togden Rinpoche, and Gonchig Dorje Gocha by Dagpo Chenga (Raze Dawa).

The Distinguishing Features of the Gongchig

The first distinguishing feature of the Gongchig is that each of the verses of the Vajra Speech are endowed with 4 Pramana or Logics:

1. They are the teaching of the all the Tathagatas.

2. They are the Pith Instructions of the Guru.

3. They are based in one’s own experience.

4. They are accounts of interdependent origination.
Second the Gongchig propounds that Mahamudra and Moral Conduct are one and the same. Third the vital points of all the teachings of the three baskets are included within the Gongchig, whatever the Buddha actually taught is included. That is, what he prohibited is prohibited, and what he accepted is accepted. The entire Five Fold Path of Mahamudra is complete within the 7 chapters of the Gongchig, as well as the entire Gradual Path, and the entire understanding of view, conduct and meditation.
( Above content are taken from kagyu website)

Explore posts in the same categories: Notes from other websites

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: